Niall Higgins Tournament 2008

The inaugural Niall Higgins Tournament tool place in beautiful weather on bank holiday Monday. The competition which was played out between 8 teams (4 Leitrim, 2 Roscommon, 2 Sligo) turned out to be a huge success. All games were highly competitive and hugely enjoyable. Games were played on a knock out basis and the first game saw Boyle play Padraig Pearses of Sligo with Boyle winning through.

The next game was between two Leitrim teams Drumkeerin and Annaduff with the Drumkeerin side winning. Home team Allen Gaels were drawn against St. Aidans of Roscommon and the hosts came out on top. The final first round game was between Tourlestrane of Sligo and Drumreilly and the Sligo team got the upper hand here.. The semi finals saw Boyle facing Drumkeerin in the first game with a strong Boyle team winning to go through to the final. The second semi was between Allen Gaels and Tourlestrane. In a very competitive game the hosts bowed out on a scoreline of 0-8 to 1-3. This saw the pairing of Boyle and Tourlestrane in the final.

In a fitting final to the tournament the two teams played out an excellent game with Tourlestrane winning by 1-9 to 0-8. Congratulations to Tourlestrane on their great win. Our thanks to the players and mentors of all teams involved who ensured all games were played in a competitive and sporting manner. Thanks to Cóiste na nOg for organising referees for the day and to referees Seamus Heron, Roy O’Reilly, Jerry Spellman and Arthur Boyle for officiating the games. Thanks also to everyone who helped out stewarding. Special thanks to Mary Joe Monaghan, Mary Beirne, Fiona McKiernan, Mairéad Higgins and Patricia McLoughlin who provided the catering for everybody throughout the course of the day. Thanks also to Willie Donnellan from the Leitrim Observer. Well done to everybody who was involved with the organisation of the event.

The full day’s results were as follows:

Quarter Finals  

Boyle 1 – 06     Padraig Pearses 1 – 04

Annaduff 3 – 02     Drumkeerin 3 – 04

Allen Gaels  2 – 05     St. Aidans  2 – 03

Tourlesstrane 3 – 06     Drumreilly   0 – 04

Semi Finals    

Boyle 5 – 11     Drumkeerin  0 – 02

Tourlestrane  0 – 08     Allen Gaels 1 – 03


Tourlestrane 1 – 09     Boyle 0 – 08